About Us

Welcome to the Town of Wheaton!

Wheaton is a town in Chippewa County in the U.S. state of Wisconsin. The population was 2,701 at the 2010 census, up from 2,366 at the 2000 census. The unincorporated communities of Old Albertville and Pine Grove are located in the town.

The town of Wheaton is in the southwest corner of Chippewa County, bordered by Dunn County to the west and Eau Claire County to the south. The Chippewa River forms the southeast border of the town, across which is the city of Chippewa Falls in the north, the village of Lake Hallie in the center, and the city of Eau Claire in the south. Chippewa Falls also has a land border with Wheaton in the northeast, and Eau Claire has a land border to the south of Wheaton. According to the United States Census Bureau, the town has a total area of 54.8 square miles (142.0 km2), of which 54.4 square miles (140.8 km2) is land and 0.46 square miles (1.2 km2), or 0.86%, is water.